Loading
  • 21 Aug, 2019

  • By, Wikipedia

Bishop Alemany Catholic High School

Bishop Alemany High School is a Roman Catholic secondary school located in the San Fernando Valley community of Mission Hills in Los Angeles, California. It is within the San Fernando Pastoral Region of the Archdiocese of Los Angeles. The school is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges. Originally known as the Indians, the school later changed their mascot to the Warriors.

History

Founded in 1947 as a school for girls, the school was originally named St. Ferdinand High School. In 1956, boys were admitted for the first time and the school was renamed to Bishop Alemany High School after Joseph Sadoc Alemany, the first archbishop of San Francisco. It was co-instructional, with separate divisions for girls and boys, until 1970 when it became coeducational.

Alemany High School was first located on the north side of Rinaldi St, just east of Sepulveda Blvd, but due to the Northridge earthquake in 1994 it sustained damage too great to be considered safe. Insomuch, it was decided to move the school across the street into the nearby buildings of Our Lady Queen of Angels Seminary at the historic San Fernando Mission. The high school shared the campus with the seminarians for one year. The seminary closed in 1995. The 1971 Sylmar earthquake did considerable damage to Alemany's campus, as well.

Notable alumni

Notable faculty